Uses of Japanese Woodblock printing in my own work

I use a lot of relief printing in my work – especially Mokuhanga / Japanese woodblock printing.

The images below – in a simplified sequence – show how I used this technique to develop and produce a  print as one component for my mixed media piece ‘Infrastructure’. Portfolio of similar work here

I made five prints using seven carved blocks and chose the the most suitable to be used in the final piece.

The print was made from an image of a salon model in a vintage German hair magazine. 1950

Leave a Reply

